Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Looney launches local election campaign: “Some Independents are more for equality than others”

Cllr Dermot Looney, the current Mayor of South Dublin, this week launched his election campaign as an Independent candidate in the Templeogue-Terenure local electoral area. Looney launched his election slogan, “Standing up for our Community,” at the launch in the Cherrytree, Walkinstown.

Speaking at the event, Looney stated; “I am campaigning on an unapologetically left wing platform of defending public services and protecting the vulnerable. My record on the Council over the past five years is of principled decisions and hard work. In my term as Mayor I have prioritised services and funding for youth and sport, older persons and the environment.”

“In reality, this election campaign began just after the 2009 local elections. I have been stuck in on the local issues for five years, making sure to update residents with frequent leaflets, canvassing and the most active social media engagement in the area. The reception in recent weeks to our campaign has shown me that local people respect my ongoing work and are in support of my decision to leave Labour and stand on a principled Independent platform.”

“There is a great deal of anger and disappointment towards both Government parties and Fianna Fáil. Based on national polling and, more importantly, the reception on the doorsteps, I am hopeful that voters fed up with these parties will turn to a strong independent candidate. It is worth remembering that in this election, some independents are more for equality than others. I am the sole left of centre Independent and hope to attract support from across the local electoral area.”

“My hard work is illustrated by the fact that I have put down 399 questions on notice and motions at local area committee level since 2009. This is more than twice the amount of any other Councillor, and is almost as much as the five other Councillors running in this area put together.”

The new Templeogue-Terenure electoral area includes parts of Dublin 12 (Greenhills, Walkinstown, Perrystown), Dublin 6w (Templeogue, Terenure), Dublin 14/16 (Ballyroan, Knocklyon) and Dublin 24 (Firhouse, Ballycullen). 6 seats will be decided for the area in the poll on May 23rd.