Tuesday, 3 July 2012

Press Release - Looney Elected Youngest-Ever Tallaght Area Chair

Labour Councillor Dermot Looney has been elected Chair of the Tallaght Area Committee at the Annual Meeting of South Dublin County Council held on June 29th. The 29 year-old is the youngest ever Chair for the Tallaght Area and is also the first Tallaght Area Chair from the Dublin 12 area, which became a part of the Tallaght Central ward prior to the last local elections.

The Tallaght Area Committee comprises 11 Cllrs from Tallaght South and Tallaght Central, who in turn represent over 100,000 residents in the area. It is the largest Area Committee on South Dublin County Council and one of the largest in the country. The Chair of the Committee is an unpaid position which includes the chairing of monthly area committee meetings and, on occasion, representing the Mayor of the County at events. Cllr Looney was unanimously elected at the Council meeting, having been nominated by outgoing Chair Cllr Mick Duff, and seconded by Cllr Marie Corr.

“I am honoured to have been elected as Chair of the Tallaght Area Committee,” said Cllr Looney, “and look forward to working with the new Mayor Cathal King, and the other Cllrs for the Tallaght area, in continuing to promote our communities at Council level and beyond.”